Advisory Council

The Advisory Council, who represent the wider audience that the IBE seeks to address, offer the IBE advice and guidance on its work programme and strategy.


They are invited to attend bi-annual meetings and receive copies of the Trustees’ meeting minutes, Directors’ reports and the IBE’s events programmes and publications.

Upon accepting their role, Advisory Council members are provided with a briefing pack detailing their role and the IBE’s charitable aims. They are also invited to attend the IBE’s Understanding Business Ethics course.


Sir Tim Melville-Ross

Chairman of Higher Education Funding Council for England and of the Homerton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.

Ram Gidoomal CBE

Vice President

Chairman of Traidcraft plc


Simon Thompson

Vice President

Chairman of 3i Group plc and Tullow Oil plc

Ian Barlow

Vice President
Company Director

Lord Green

Honorary Vice President

Baroness Howe

Honorary Vice-President

Sir Robert Worcester

Honorary Vice President
Senior Advisor of Ipsos MORI Public Affairs Research

Peter Harper

Chris Moorhouse

Former IBE Chair

Sir David Walker

Chairman of Winton Group 

Mary Francis

Non-Executive Director of the Swiss Re Group and Ensco plc

Rachel Lomax

Senior Independent Director and Chair of the Conduct and Values Committee at HSBC Holdings

Sir Mark Moody-Stuart

Chairman of the Global Compact Foundation and of the Innovative Vector Control Consortium (IVCC)

Sir Richard Olver FREng

Chairman of BAE Systems 2004-2014

Sir Kevin Tebbit

Sir Kevin is engaged in business, academia and in advising Government

Iain Anderson

Iain is an expert in public policy and complex corporate communications issues.

Sir Brendan Barber

Sir Brendan is Chairman of ACAS and Deputy Chairman of the Banking Standards Board.

Sir Douglas Flint CBE

Formerly Group Chairman of HSBC Holdings plc

Professor Laura Spence

Laura joined the Board of Trustees in 2011.  Laura stepped down as a trustee in 2017 and subsequently joined the advisory council.

David Jackson LL. B (Hons) Bristol

David joined the IBE Advisory Council in April 2019

Barbara Ridpath

Appointed to the IBE International Advisory Council in 2019.

Annabel Gillard

Appointed to the International Advisory Council in 2019

Ruth Rawling

Appointed to the International Advisory Council in 2019.

John Williams

Appointed to the International Advisory Council in 2019.

Robert Smith

Appointed to the International Advisory Council 2019

About us

Our Team

Our team apply their practical business experience to fulfil the IBE's mission

Our Trustees

The Trustees are responsible for ensuring that the IBE abides by its charitable aims

Our Advisory Council

The Advisory Council represent the wider audience that the IBE seeks to address

Get involved

Help the IBE promote ethical business practice by supporting us

A Brief History of the IBE

The IBE was founded in 1986 by business people for business people

My Basket

There are no items in your basket


Support Us & Get Involved

Support the IBE

Contact the Institute of Business Ethics